IRS…

Today in the mail, I recieved a letter from the IRS.  Normally, the government takes up to a year to decide whether to grant nonprofit status to companies.  Apparently, they’re working over time.  Today, they informed me that I need to update some of the information I sent them in the packet.

The problem is, they only gave me about 12 days to complete it.  To put it all together, it took me months.  I fear losing out on the 750 dollars and having to start anew.  It’s not a happy thought.  This and our first fundraising event coming up.  I need to touch this up.  Otherwise it will all be for naught.

All else is going well.  From the invites for the fundraiser, I’ve learned a few things.

One: Don’t send out RSVP cards without return addresses or names on them.  I have no idea who’s sent me anything back.  I’d assumed that people would write on them.  That was my fault and ignorance.

Two: Don’t send them out with mixed messages.  It appears to have given a choice between the ticket price and donations.  Again, rookie mistake.

Three: Buy in Bulk.  I bought 50 then another 50 from Staples.  It worked, but I didn’t do them together and delayed some of the invites.

That’s it for now.  I need to figure this all out.

Mike Hawley

Leave a Reply

